Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: First Impressions! Calming yet mysterious  (Read 1931 times)

Fariha Khayyam

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
First Impressions! Calming yet mysterious
« on: August 03, 2020, 12:41:09 AM »
Hey!

Okay so when WIM Round 3 was announced, I almost dropped my phone on my face and immediately told my cousin (who had previously sat through all my rumblings about my WIM stories). I participated in WIM Round 1 and it has led me to discover great characters who are currently taking me on a journey, currently drafted at 30k. When WIM Round 2 came around, I had so much going on in life with exams and work, I wasn't able to continue after its first week.

Now, as the world opens its door again after all what has happened; I -the introvert- still continues to sit and continue typing on my laptop. As a pantser, photo prompts are one of my favorite methods of coming up with new ideas, and WIM Round 3 prompt did not disappoint!

FIRST IMPRESSIONS

I saw the tweet that the prompt was live (on Aug 1), I was middle of an errand when I quickly looked it up. Initially it looked like a calming scene of a cabin atop a grassy hill and mountains in the backdrop. I showed it to my siblings and asked them what they feel first. Both said, it looks creepy and lonely! - something which I'm not feeling!

Later that night, I looked closely at the photo. Is that fog in the mountains at the back? Or mist perhaps? The cabin is awfully small and not maintained well, seeing the moldy walls. The cabin faces towards the mountains in the background, where I assume the door would be, as we only see a shuttered window in the photo and unkept grass and weeds (idk?). Is it some sort of lookout post? Or a shepherd's hut while his cattle graze?