Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Second Draft - SMOKE AND FOG  (Read 1569 times)

Fariha Khayyam

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Second Draft - SMOKE AND FOG
« on: August 15, 2020, 03:29:10 AM »
Hey! I made the edits on the eleventh hour, this week just flew by. For self-editing I focused on the flow of the story, adding the MC name, more of her inner thoughts, and rearranged few sentences to make it smoother overall. And of course corrected any spelling/grammar errors. Also, managed to add two more lines at the end of the story and still reach 1000 words.

SMOKE AND FOG - self-edited draft

The monotonous lull of the rain drops thundering atop my roof and the earthy scent wrapped me in a warm blanket of memories. Memories were painful now that I was far, far away from the ones who jumped in the puddles with me and the ones who dried my hair after I'd become fully drenched.

My groggy eyes opened to the dim light of the cabin. The candle had burned low. How long was I asleep? I thought.  I stretched my frail limbs, deeply inhaling the wood spice of the incense and coughed when the pungent burning smell struck my senses.

Nutmeg! 

I jumped of the bed shaking its wooden frame, my anklets chimed in sync with my footsteps as I hopped to the counter where a concoction gently bubbled. It was a tonic to cure insomnia. Made from raw honey, dried lavender and smoked nutmeg. It was as popular with the veil-dwellers as it was with humans. The crushed nutmeg had burnt to the core. Grunting, I dumped the contents away, taking a new batch of whole nutmeg to grind and then to smoke. The wind howled - a wailing cry that rattled my bones.