Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Third Draft - SMOKE AND FOG  (Read 1326 times)

Fariha Khayyam

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Third Draft - SMOKE AND FOG
« on: August 22, 2020, 03:45:30 AM »
Hey! okay phew, this week was unexpectedly busy yet exciting. I was paired with amazing CPs [Elizabeth Grant and Anthony Eden] who did a brilliant job at pulling my story apart  ;D No seriously, once they were done I had 40 comments for my total 68 lines. A huge thank you to them!

What I fixed.

Both CPs pointed out some common things: sentence flow, word choice and overall tone that I wanted to keep in the story - and the areas where that tone often broke. Also, I initially felt the story is a bit rushed. While I was revising their comments and editing, the pace fixed itself (at least I hope so). Some plot-gaps were pointed out where I missed out explanations, etc. (because the story somehow makes sense in my head). At other places, there was a ton of repetition (because I write while drinking double-shot espresso).   ???
Also! My MC is a herbalist and Elizabeth helped in clearing some details as a fellow-herb-hobbyist.  :D
All in all, I had to work with rephrasing and really getting the story out of my head and on to the paper as smoothly as possible while maintaining the word limit! My second draft was 1k words, while editing based on the comments and simply writing, I ended up with 30 words over limit, so after some minor chopping I was back at 1000 words.  8)

SMOKE AND FOG

The nostalgic scent of the rain and the lull of the rain drops thundering atop my roof wrapped me in a warm blanket of memories - those that were painful now. I was far, far away from the ones who jumped in the puddles with me and the ones who dried my hair after I'd become fully drenched.