Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Found and Lost: Final Draft  (Read 965 times)

msocampowrites

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Found and Lost: Final Draft
« on: December 01, 2019, 06:55:20 PM »
Thanks to Rebecca, Jennifer, Meghan, Diana, SM Roffey, Kristen and R Pelham Hern for all your feedback.

The four-poster bed was broken and fragments of iron shackles were left on the bed.  The chill of an enemy nearby slipped up my spine.

My partner, Andy, had just rescued his ex-girlfriend, Katherine. She was emaciated?a week without blood was an eternity for a vampire. I stared into the empty room. Connor, my ex-boyfriend, must have escaped their captivity.

I turned to Andy and said, "You get her out of here. I'll go up to the roof and send up the signal. If I'm lucky, I might sense Connor. Meet me back here once Katherine is safe."

While Andy and Katherine took the elevator to the ground floor, I took the stairs up to the roof. Once I got there, I walked up to the edge, feeling like a superhero, with my jacket fluttering like a cape in the wind. I held onto a broken antenna and lit a signal flare. The police cruiser nearby signaled back with its lights and horn. I dropped the flare.

As I walked back to the door, the back of my neck burned.

A shadowy figure approached me, hands clenched into fists.

"You interfering little commoner!"  Desdemona?Connor and Katherine's captor and sire?"There is no way you are going to take my Connor away from me!"

I sighed as I walked towards the door, keeping my distance. "If you want to continue your undead existence, it's best you leave town. But if you attack me, you will meet your end. I already signaled for backup, anyway. They?ll take Katherine to safety and as soon as I find Connor, I'll get him out of here!"

Desdemona tried to grab my arm, but I stepped out of the way. I grabbed one of my garlic salt powder bombs, threw it at her, and rushed to the door.