Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Welcome Home - Final Draft  (Read 639 times)

Fabierien

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Welcome Home - Final Draft
« on: December 01, 2019, 09:15:11 PM »
I wanted to start by taking a moment to thank Ms. Rebecca McWilliams and Ms. S.M. Roffey for taking the time to do a second critique for me. I appreciate your advice and I have done my best to represent it here. The story ended up being just a smidgen over 1000 at 1007. I am okay with it though. I think it is a better story for it.

----------------------------------------

Carle's foot was greeted with pulses of agony as it connected with the old communications array. She jerked back clutching her foot, mouthing curses under her breath. Static blurred back at her, lost in its own nothing. The storm must have knocked out the antenna on the blasted thing. Again.

She sat down, massaging her foot, making sure she hadn't broken anything. She should remember to raise her toes before she kicked things. At least hard things. She glanced up noticing a sheet of paper extending from the array. She ripped it lose, the message hadn't finished printing before the blasted thing stopped working.

We'll be there by early light. She raised an eyebrow. No ships were due this week.

She looked closer at the message. A flying cross adorned the top right corner. The symbol for the Captain of the Fleet. Her Father. She slumped back in her chair. He'd been top of his class, a zeppelin pilot able to navigate the fiercest winds. It's all in how you feel the wind. He'd say. People didn't get it, not even the other pilots but that's why he was the best. She smiled remembering his. Then the Emperor sent out a call and he answered to his duty. That was eleven years ago, she had been six.

Carle crumpled the missive in her hand, lost in the memories of better times. Tears leaked from her eyes and fell to the page. She tried to wipe them away, only managing to rip it.