Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: The Bride - Final Draft after Editor feedback  (Read 888 times)

Vickywrites

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
The Bride - Final Draft after Editor feedback
« on: August 30, 2020, 10:04:20 AM »
Having only limited experience with editors, I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this round. I half-envisaged a quick "yes this is fine," maybe with a couple of notes on grammar. Instead I got an amazingly helpful, enthusiastic and encouraging email from Carly, with a document full of comments and suggested tracked changes.

She gave tons of helpful advice, particularly around getting more of a feel of Echo in terms of her reactions and background, and also how to make it clearer that Malthas is completely out of his depth in this new world. I've had a few issues this week as I'm working on a campsite with no signal, hence being late in posting this (sorry  :(). But I've done my best to implement her suggestions in this final draft. I'm very very tempted to turn this into a full length novel - we shall have to see how it goes! Thank you so much Carly!
 :heart:

Crouched atop the ugly mountainside building, Malthas stretched his leathery wings and studied his new bride. She stood immobile in the clearing, an alpine breeze billowing her clothes and hair. Crickets chirped amongst the flowers and bats darted overhead. The tattoo on her wrist, his spiral emblem, whispered insistently. She remained voiceless in the mass of alabaster blossoms, empty as a statue. He squinted, suppressing an impatient growl while he tried to decipher what was wrong.

The portal to his realm thrummed beneath the concrete structure, barely audible above the music and drunken laughter emanating from the mountain slope. He cursed. She'd clearly left her people to meet him, so why had she stopped moving? He couldn't reach her either. Every time he waded into the fragrant blooms, something repelled him.

"Come to me," he commanded sharply.