Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: The Final Goodbye  (Read 702 times)

KristenH

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
The Final Goodbye
« on: November 15, 2019, 09:02:41 PM »
Here's my self-edited version before it goes to my two CPs this weekend. Enjoy!

The Final Goodbye

The flights flickered inside Adrienne Sinclair's office. When it darkened, she grabbed her flashlight to find her way out.

Thunder boomed in the distance. Lightning crackled across an evening sky. Torrential rain drenched the streets. She groaned. What else can go wrong tonight? 

She spotted a mysterious envelope by the crack. She stashed it in her pocketbook and widened her eyes on the handwriting. ?What the hell?  I have no time for this or selfless mind games.?

Adrienne snatched her poncho, her briefcase, and her key ring.  Thunderstorms sometimes creeped her out like in the past. It carried a subtle hint of d?ja vu too.

She sprinted to the front desk and zipped across the parking lot. She escaped inside her car to dry off and get warm. As she started her engine, she fished for her penlight in the glove compartment, and lifted the envelope.

Sebastian. Once again, you're getting under my skin.  ?'Rennie, you know where to find me. Follow the clues. Sebastian.'? If she wasn't stuck in this storm, she would've ripped the photo in half.. after she memorized it.

Thunder rattled. Lightning struck twice near the complex. Too close for comfort. She peeled away, flicked on her wipers, and headed for the highway.

At first glance, she'd known where to find her ex-lover, Sebastian Pruitt. Their secret hiding place where they held clandestine trysts. Plotted their next moves in a treasure trove-filled cubbyhole. ?The Amtak train station to Cotati.?

There weren't any train tracks shown. The woman looked like her in disguise as a fellow cat burglar. Dressed in black, she held a lightning rod on a stormy night like this one.