Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Deep Networks - Self Edit  (Read 296 times)

oliver

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
    • OliverElwood.com
Deep Networks - Self Edit
« on: August 14, 2020, 02:14:23 PM »
Thanks to everyone who read my original rough draft, and for the helpful comments.

As part of my revision, I wanted to really focus on developing the story details in a clear and concise manner, reducing the technical mumble of clutter in the middle, and (try) to add more interiority to the POV character.

I did this by completely rewriting the beginning, and also making a new/different experiment and motivation for doing it.

Also, I wanted to try and emphasize that these are not AIs and that is why the scientist and engineer never considered it possible for the code to have an emergent personality or feelings for each other.

========================

Deep Networks
Oliver Elwood

Lewis found it hard to focus while her glasses stubbornly refused to stay in place. But she couldn't stop looking down at the monitors to observe the raw data flow. Behind her, a scratchy loudspeaker continued its play-by-play of the action in the anomaly field.
     "Signal strength reduced to ten percent. Five percent. Zero. Data stream terminated. Encoder signal lost. Begin collating data for Decoder current."
     On her right, lead engineer Clarke ignored the raw feeds, preferring to watch an endless stream of images carousel across the primary display. With each passing image, she was bouncing just a little more, making it harder still for Lewis to concentrate. The lab wasn't big enough to contain Clarke's excitement.
     "Did it work? It definitely worked! Anomaly four thousand eighty-seven is our way back."
Lewis took a seat, pushing herself deep into the mag chair. She felt a sudden spike of nervousness, followed by an involuntary shiver. "Something is off, this isn't right."