Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Draft 1 - A Day on the Water  (Read 2405 times)

NLS80K

• Literary Fiction, Women's Fiction and Domestic Noir
  • I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
    • Naomi Lisa Shippen Author Page
Draft 1 - A Day on the Water
« on: November 01, 2019, 11:52:05 PM »
This is my first draft from the Writer In Motion Prompt. I have named it "A Day on the Water." I got up the courage to post it on my blog after all your kind comments.

https://naomilisa.shippen.net/writer-in-motion-blog-project

The storm clouds are coming but she holds on tight. One hand on the spindly wooden mast the other reaching out as high as she can so that her torch can be seen in the distance. She stands on her tip toes and cranes her body as far as she dares; there?s still some time left, still some light left. She makes the most of it before the darkness and the rain.

The wind picks up and billows her blouse like a fluttering black sail. Hopefully, they will see it in the distance. Hopefully, it will contrast with the cobolt blue of the sky and fluffy white clouds. But then, white would have been better; white is the color of sails and it was chosen for a reason. White is for visibility and black is for camouflage.

Maybe she should have worn white today, but then, she didn?t expect that this was going to happen.

Down below decks Stella is screaming her accusations, running around, pulling her hair out.
?I don?t believe this!? She is yelling. ?I don?t fucking believe this is happening!?
Ted is trying to calm her down, he puts his arms around her but she pushes him away.

?Don?t touch me!? She yells. ?Don?t you dare fucking touch me! This is all your fault! It was your fucking idea! We?re all going to die and it?s because of you!?
The children start their howling and waves lap the side of the yacht.

The still blue waters of Sydney Harbour are long gone and now they are on the open sea.