Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Draft 1: Waiting To Jump  (Read 1347 times)

Grim Dreamer

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Draft 1: Waiting To Jump
« on: November 03, 2019, 04:49:46 PM »
I'll probably get this up on my blog in a day or so, but I wanted to put it here as well. Enjoy.

Waiting To Jump

Kenny was waiting for Batlady to jump. When she did, that would be his cue.
   The office was full of these inane motivational posters. Everest is waiting to kill you faced him every day across his desk. Zombie Biker dudes completed the Tour De France on the way to slaughter him whenever he walked down the hall. And behind the boss?s desk, Batlady held her torch above the clouds, her face trapped in that tortured vision that suggested somebody evil had nailed her feet to her perch, but he didn?t see the blood. Cleaned it up for the photoshoot probably. But one of these days, she?d pull her feet free, and so would he.
   But when she jumped, he didn?t expect to be the one to catch her.
   He was breaking the law at the time. He?d heard through the office gossip-chain that his head was on the chopping block. If they were going to fire him, he?d prefer to go out with everything he needed to blow enough whistles to bring every dog in the regulatory agencies barking to the door. He took everything he needed: books, phone-numbers, illegal correspondence, feeling more self-righteous and less like dog-doo on a shoe the further he dug into the darkness he?d worked in for so long.
   He jumped up like the chair had shot thumbtacks in his ass when he heard her scream. And there she was, batwing cape flapping around her flailing arms, yoga pants on fire, bloody feet trailing helpless streamers as she fell.