Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Welcome Home - WIM Final Thoughts  (Read 840 times)

Fabierien

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Welcome Home - WIM Final Thoughts
« on: December 02, 2019, 01:36:29 AM »
    This has been a really great process for me. I wanted to thank all of those that have read my story and given me such fantastic feedback. I appreciate your time and efforts. I figured I would give a little background on how and why I decided to participate.

I had wanted to participate in the first WIM but was on a tight schedule. I had finished my novel's first draft and I had planned on employing Ms. Chapelle's services to help me make it great in August, once I finished my own revisions. That thing is over 120k words and needed serious help. Did I mention it was a tight schedule? Simply put I could not fit in another project. So I skipped WIM one.

Then in the middle of revisions I found out my mom had stage four lung cancer. Everything came to a halt, especially my revisions. I live in Washington and my mom lived in Alabama, can't just drop by to check on her. Trips to and from there became a thing and as much as one might think a five hour plane ride would provide time to write, it really didn't. Not under those circumstances. Ms. Jeni was amazingly understanding and didn't hold me to the August deadline. I appreciate that Ms. Jeni.

We lost mom in July, barely four months after diagnosis. I was devastated, couldn't focused. Haven't been able to focus for months when Writer in Motion two rolled around. I took the opportunity to shake things up and put my novel on the shelf.