Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Rebecca's Word Rake  (Read 1603 times)

Grim Dreamer

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Rebecca's Word Rake
« on: November 12, 2019, 07:26:35 PM »
Self-Editing Checklist

I compiled this some time ago to use as a word rake when I found most of the grammar programs out there were great at identifying words, but not great at identifying which words should be dealt with in a line edit. Feel free to use it. I print one out and keep it for line editing.

1)   -ing (Participle phrases used as adverbs have a tendency to be problems. Check 'em.)
2)   to (Checking for infinitives. Not all are a problem, but they should be looked at. A check for to will also bring up prepositions and all kinds of words. I mark each infinitive that shows up)
3)   has/ have/had (Check your perfect and your pluperfect. Watch out for I've, he'd, she'd, you'd. Immediacy is important in creative writing, and these words create distance.)
4)   that/there (That--check for fillers. Usually that shows up as a coordinating conjunction for me. Sometimes it can be eliminated. Sometimes it just means I need to thing about whether I want a phrase or a second main clause. There--expletive constructions can and should be eliminated. Obviously, you would leave there when you need to identify a spot.)
5)   was/were (Not always your friends, and they can be like ticks in a manuscript. They get used all the time in description. "Her hair was red and curly and fell to her shoulders." Compare to "Her red hair curled from the crown of her head to her shoulders.") BUT...BE VERY CAREFUL when it comes to working with these words, though. Was and were may be indicators of passive voice, but they are also being verbs and they are tense markers for the past progressive tense. (Was walking to the store). Don't go nuts cutting. Figure out your usage and go from there.