Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Waiting To Jump: CP Round  (Read 1075 times)

Grim Dreamer

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Waiting To Jump: CP Round
« on: November 17, 2019, 04:29:48 PM »
WIM Third Week Post: CP Round
Part 1: Processing

This weekend, Waiting to Jump went to three critique partners. I thought I would start this week with a post on how I process feedback--general (this week's round) and targeted (next week's round).

To be honest, I always open these documents feeling something akin to despair. Not only do I expect to be confronted with things that people don't like, the document itself is now visually overwhelming. But once I get over the nausea, I settle down and take out a yellow legal pad. I give each critique partner a third of a page with their name as a header. If I was doing it with a novel, each chapter gets a page with the critique partner's name on it. Then I'll settle down with a cup of tea and read the comments for each document as dispassionately as possible.

It used to bother me that readers would have such different ideas of my "problems" and how to fix them. Particularly galling were comments where one reader loved something, and another found it cut-worthy. I'd stamp around and wonder why people couldn't be objective. Confronting feedback from multiple critique partners is bound to result in a number of opinions on your story: all of them valid, all of them different, and all of them subjective, and each with different ideas of how your story could be improved. So, what do you change?

Exactly what you want to change.

Here's how I process CP feedback.

First, I find where all three CPs agree that something isn't working. I write each comment on that particular part of the story down under each CP's name. Even if I disagree, this particular part of the story needs attention.