Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Beacon  (Read 946 times)

arianascribbles

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Beacon
« on: November 23, 2019, 03:00:59 PM »
I cheated a little this week and wrote a post about the process of providing a critique. Next week I'll be sharing all of the edits I made from both rounds of CP edits.

So the blog post is here https://arianascribbles.wixsite.com/arianascribbles/home/constructive-feedback-wim-week-3

But the changes I actually made as per Morgan and Natalie's amazing feedback are below. Some of them added too many words, so I held back for now. I will probably go crazy and break this word count rule on my final pass through and take advantage of even more of these suggestions, but we'll see. I always have enjoyed the challenge of certain constraints like word counts. We'll see.

Here's the story where it currently stands:

Beacon

It?s hard to find settlements in the dark these days. The swarm is nocturnal now, descending like a demonic hoard on any scrap of light that shines from dusk until dawn. It?s forbidden to so much as light a candle in the evenings. One of those laws that?s easy to keep because the punishment for breaking it is death, and far as I know there?s no judicial system set up with the bugs to beg for mercy. 

I?m rushing to boil water. The sun is dancing below the horizon, and I?ll need to put out the fire soon, even though we?ll want for the heat. The twins are coughing and these long, cold nights don?t help. They need a doctor, but we?re still a half-day?s walk from the nearest village hunkered inside a rusted out Volkswagen Beetle. The irony of this does not elude me.