Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Found and Lost: Draft 3  (Read 1059 times)

msocampowrites

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Found and Lost: Draft 3
« on: November 23, 2019, 03:28:18 PM »
Thanks to Jeni Chapelle, Morgan Wilson, Stephanie Whitaker, @wickedrambling, and Tyler Zeoli for all your feedback. I hope you like this re-edit. It clocks in at 903 words!

There we were, face to face with Desdemona, the self-proclaimed "Duchess" of House Kariko. My partner, Andy, and I had just rescued Katherine from her captivity. We still had to find Connor, but at the moment, we had to deal with the vampire who was responsible for turning both of them. There wasn't much space to fight. We were standing in the middle of a hotel hallway.

I turned to Andy and said, "You get your ex-girlfriend out of here. I'll go up to the top of this place and send up the signal. Meet me back here."

While Andy and Katherine took the elevator to the ground floor, I climbed up to the roof, feeling like a superhero, with  my cape fluttering in the wind. I held onto a broken antenna and lit a signal flare, holding my arm out to make sure it could be seen. A flash of light illuminated from the police cruiser on the ground, my signal received. I dropped the flare and spun to rush back inside the building. My feet skidded to a halt as Desdemona's shadowy figure blocked the doorway, hands clenched into fists.

"You interfering little commoner!" Desdemona said. "There is no way you are going to take my Connor away from me!" Her scowl began to falter and her shoulders started shaking. "I cannot lose him the way I lost..."

I sighed as I made my way to the door that led to the stairway. "Then I'll find him myself. If you want to continue your undead existence, it's best you leave town. But if you attack me, you will meet your end. I already signaled for backup, anyway."