Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: The Bride (3rd draft after CP feedback)  (Read 598 times)

Vickywrites

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
The Bride (3rd draft after CP feedback)
« on: August 20, 2020, 08:45:57 AM »
Having never been a CP before, I was super nervous about this round. I needn't have worried though. I was matched with two fantastic people (thank you so much Blue and Sue!) who gave me kind, helpful and enthusiastic feedback, AND I got to critique their amazing stories too. I loved it!

So in response to feedback, I have:
  • Used names more. As a dialogue-heavy piece, there is a lot of back and forth and therefore a lot of pronoun usage
  • Tried to soften the transitions
  • Added a bit more description in places although the word limit made that tricky
  • Sorted out the roots after they tied Malthas up in the last draft then didn't release him, lol
  • My girl Echo was a hit! but her motives were considered a bit weak, which I completely agree with (again, a word limit issue for me). So I gave her more motivation for leaving, which meant...
  • I've changed the ending again  :D

Crouched atop the ugly mountainside building, Malthas stretched his leathery wings and studied his new bride. She stood immobile in the clearing, an alpine breeze billowing her clothes and hair. Crickets chirped in the grass and bats darted overhead. The tattoo on her wrist, his spiral emblem, whispered insistently. She remained voiceless among the alabaster flowers, empty as a statue.

The portal to his realm thrummed beneath the concrete structure. He cursed. He'd cloaked himself in shadows to infiltrate the human festival in the valley, enduring the drunken fools and shrill music to snatch the girl. When they landed, she'd bolted into the undergrowth. Now, every time he waded into the blooms, something repelled him.

"Come to me," he commanded.