Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: First Draft "Aunt Lavinia"  (Read 688 times)

JeSuisAmanda

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
First Draft "Aunt Lavinia"
« on: July 17, 2021, 03:24:13 AM »
A bobbin. Yes, a bobbin. She was quite sure as her fingers stretched out under the dresser. The very tips of her index and middle finger pushed against the plastic, sending it further away from her reach.
She exhaled sharply, her warm breath slapping against the wood and escaping around her face. Finally, giving up, she pulled away and sat on her legs, all flushed and tousled hair.
What she was actually looking for was the pen that had just fallen out of her bag. The pen that Nonna had given her. It had spilled out of her bag, along with everything else when it fell, and she watched as the pen rolled under the dresser like it owed her money.
 The dresser had also been a gift, of sorts. It had been her great aunt?s. Or great, great aunt. Or great, great, great aunt. Whoever Aunt Lavinia had been to her. It had passed from eldest daughter to eldest daughter to eldest daughter. Aunt Lavinia had died as a girl, so it passed instead to Lavinia?s youngest sister, then to her.
It was about four feet tall and three feet wide and made from solid wood. Oak or mahogany, one of the heavy, proper woods. Whatever it was, she definitely wasn?t moving it on her own. She could ask little Romero boys who lived across the hall. Offer them a few bucks in exchange. Perhaps a broom...
She threw herself onto the floor, shining the flashlight from her phone wildly. Dust bunny after dust bunny thrown into sharp relief. It was no use. There was no sight of Nonna?s pen.