Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Week 3?- The love Nest  (Read 526 times)

noreen

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Week 3?- The love Nest
« on: August 22, 2020, 09:57:03 PM »
This is not happening.

The taxi driver is long gone and I check the address on the printed piece of paper. Rustic cottage on the east side of the village. Near the Durga temple. The air carries a chill, but sweat trickles down the middle of my back anyway

?Just get the signatures from the owner and get the hell out of here.?

I suck in the smell of the gardenia flowers that litter the path. There?s no way in hell I?m staying here after dark. Unless I want to be buried in this bucolic wilderness.

?Ya Allah! If I make it out of here alive, I promise to pray more.?

I labored with each step on the uphill gravel path. Once I?m at the door, I take a second to fix my hair and smooth my jeans. I tug the big yellow file from my Vuitton bag and the title sticks out at me?'Lake Odisha Resort?.

I stare at the red door. This is it. Whoever is behind the door is a stranger, but I hope he/she will give me a chance and listen. I?m here to make a deal.

Tap. Tap.

?It?s open,? A deep voice thunders.
The cottage exterior did not lie, inside is a bare concrete floor with a bamboo cot and few essentials. He sits cross-legged and when he moves his cotton tunic rustles. ?Have a seat.?
His blue eyes follow me as I struggle to sit on the mat next to him.

He rubs his beard. ?Zee, you haven?t changed much.?

Daniyal.
The man whose heart I broke eight years ago We were so in love. His almond brown eyes made my skin prickle, even now. I swallow. When did he become Dan the billionaire curmudgeon?

?Daniyal? How?d you end up here??

?Right. And I should tell you this, why?? His crooked mouth twists into that lopsided grin that still does a number on my heart.
?An autograph will do, so I can get out of this hell?? I pull out the Manila folder and slide it across the floor.