Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: First Draft: An Ill-Conceived Wish  (Read 1067 times)

NysseRae

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
First Draft: An Ill-Conceived Wish
« on: August 05, 2020, 05:38:50 PM »
Here is my first draft! I had fun with colour-coding my paragraphs as I wrote them to try and show the drafting process.

https://nyssarae.wordpress.com/2020/08/05/writer-in-motion-week-1-first-draft/

dankoboldt

• Writer of Dragons
    • View Profile
    • Science in Sci-fi, Fact in Fantasy
Re: First Draft: An Ill-Conceived Wish
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2020, 05:54:43 AM »
Nicely done, Nyssa Rae! The opening really drew me in. I didn't realize what the colors meant until I saw how thoroughly you documented your drafting process. How cool that you shared that level of detail.
Dan Koboldt
dankoboldt (at) gmail [dot] com
Creator of THE TRIANGLE, a sci-fi adventure series (Serial Box, April 2019)
Editor of Putting the Science in Fiction (Writer's Digest, October 2018)
Author of Gateways to Alissia (Harper Voyager 2016-2018)

Vickywrites

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2020, 06:13:27 AM »
Love this idea! Great set up, I especially liked it when the genie-esq character had to remember how to smile. Interesting to see your non-linear approach via the colour coding too. Looking forward to the revised draft!

SKaeth

• WIM Moderator
    • View Profile
    • Space Cows
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2020, 03:50:07 PM »
I love the way you color-coded your timeline of writing and explained your process! Very cool! And your story is so imaginative. I'm very much looking forward to seeing your editing process!

Fariha Khayyam

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2020, 04:39:44 PM »
loved that ending and the drafting process details, great idea!

NysseRae

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2020, 11:36:40 AM »