Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Another Woman - 2nd Draft  (Read 550 times)

NetaQDay

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Another Woman - 2nd Draft
« on: August 16, 2020, 12:11:21 AM »
Three years after Danny created a Facebook profile, I filed for a divorce. My husband was a married man in the throes of a midlife crisis at the ripe old age of thirty-five.

What happened to the good old days of those hidden furtive affairs in motels and parking lots? Or in some lover?s lane, grinding on each other to Bob Marley or the Beatles.

Where we are from the Islands, intercourse is referred to as ?commonness.? Here in good old Brooklyn, we call it lovemaking. When I?m peaking, sweaty, and naughty, I would say fucking. Then holding tight to the giddiness of afterglow in that sweet space, tired and centered, I?d whisper rom pom. In this place, a concrete jungle, as young and hungry as we were, quiet and dark spaces were left with the echoes of our sighs; the last row of the theater, or under the loading and unloading platforms at the Met grocery store, or on the L train at midnight.

?We need to talk.?

Those were the first words Danny grunted in my presence in more than a week. The aroma of cinnamon rolls, oven-fresh, filled the room. He sipped his black coffee and licked the tip of a finger to the sticky sweetness. My gaze was drawn to this singular fastidious mannerism. Solely mine to contemplate, mine to equate with proprietary glee, mine to hate. He was the one who cheated? He was the one who was on social media pretending that he was single?

My teeth sunk into a warm doughy roll. My throat rebelling, swallowing, dry and closed. I grimace and gaze into a cup of creamy hazelnut goodness. Why do I now feel hurt? Should I have taken the higher road and confronted him?

Those four little words convinced me that I must listen. Danny murmured something about the city, our jobs, and us needing time to reconnect.