Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Draft 2: Waiting To Jump  (Read 1453 times)

Grim Dreamer

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Draft 2: Waiting To Jump
« on: November 10, 2019, 04:20:15 PM »
WIM: Week 2 :The Ugly Duck
Part 1 Sunday

Now comes the fun part! The Ugly Duck draft!

Those of you who know me from Twitter know that I paint. Sometimes I find painting and writing have a lot in common.

When I paint, I usually start by sketching some kind of reference photo, but more often than not, I?m combining pictures in my mind before I start sketching. It looks okay when I?m done. Not bad. I mask off my tricky whites, reserve the bigger patches. I usually have an idea of my color scheme. I grab my scratch paper to test colors. Then the paint goes on the page. Instant mess.

My nice, gorgeous line drawing suddenly goes from not-so-bad to the finger-painting of a three-year-old. It looks bad. Really bad. Like chuck-em-on-the-burn-pile bad. I've learned not to do that. There's nothing wrong with my sketch or my painting. It's just the Ugly Duck phase.

Writing is the same way for me. I'm taking my pencil-sketch story, and painting it. It's rough because it's work, and it's not pretty, but it's also an important part of my process. In a second draft, I want the details, emotions, impressions, and perceptions to stand out like every sharp corner and knobby bump on a very ugly duck. This draft is where my characters, my themes, and my writerly quirks are going to poke out and jab me right in my eyeballs. This is my vision draft.

To create my Ugly Duck draft for this story, I'll rewrite the thing as many times as it takes me to lay down all the colors. That will probably be three to five times, based on previous stories. It's still going to be rough going into the CP round, but that's okay. Once I have my Ugly Duck, I know where I'm going.