Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: The Final Goodbye-Draft 3  (Read 609 times)

KristenH

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
The Final Goodbye-Draft 3
« on: November 22, 2019, 09:49:31 PM »
The Final Goodbye

The lights flickered out in Adrienne Sinclair's office. In the dark, she grabbed her flashlight to find her way out.   

Thunder boomed in the distance. Lightning crackled across an evening sky. Torrential rain drenched the streets. She groaned. What else can go wrong tonight? 

A mysterious envelope laid by the door's crack. She widened her eyes on the pocketbook and stashed it in her pocketbook. ?What the hell?  I have no time for this or selfless mind games.?

Adrienne snatched her poncho, her briefcase, and her key ring.  A thunderstorm reminded her from when they last cracked a safe together and made love. It carried a subtle hint of d?ja vu too. 

She sprinted to the front desk and zipped across the parking lot. She hopped inside her car to dry off and get warm. As she started her engine, she fished for her spare flashlight in the glove compartment, and lifted the envelope to inspect the address. 

There weren't any train tracks shown. The woman looked like her in disguise as a fellow cat burglar. Dressed in black, she held a lightning rod on a stormy night like this one.

Sebastian. She shook out her  clammy hands as sweat beads formed on her forehead. 'Rennie, you know where to find me. Follow the clues. Sebastian.'?

Thunder rattled. Lightning struck twice near the complex. Too close for comfort. She peeled away, flicked on her wipers, and headed for the highway.

At first glance, she'd known where to find him at their secret hiding place. Clandestine trysts and plotted moves in a treasure-trove filled cubbyhole. ?The Amtak train station.?