Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Grasping the WILD: Third Draft  (Read 708 times)

rmcwilliams86

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Grasping the WILD: Third Draft
« on: November 23, 2019, 03:20:33 AM »
"You'll be free." They said. "Empowered."

Lies. All lies. It was hot, dirt was clogging my mouth and nose and I haven't taken a shower in days. My legs are hot noodles of pain, my thighs swollen three sizes too big and instead of self-assurance I gained existential crisis. Divorce should be the lowest point of life. Or infertility. Or rehab at thirty-two. Or the time a flock of birds pooed, not once, but multiple times in your hair during your first kiss. But no! This moment, when I am bare-foot, pants ripped bad enough to know my ass is hanging out and hundreds of miles away from any source of humanity--this was worse.

I took a hesitant step, cringing as spiky needles and hidden pine cones assaulted my feet. I sighed. The trail I was following is still nowhere to be found.

Hiking should provide peace by filling the body with endorphins until you say, "I've conquered this motherf'ing mountain and I can climb whatever hill of bullshit you throw at me now life."

And to be fair that did happen. I reached the peak of the motherf'ing mountain/hill and I gained an oh, so brief, but exhilarating moment of clarity which I commemorated with the everlasting selfie. Who would have believed my journey without photographic evidence? Plus, I had planned for the moment. I stripped from my hiking clothes, relishing in the suns warmth before donning a black ensemble. Hair perfect, body slimmed, camera timer on--I lit a flare stick, held onto a metal safety post and BAM! The perfect selfie.

I even had a thigh gap from which sunshine shone through like freaking rays of angels. It. Was. Perfect. I looked like I was flying. I looked like a hippie bad-ass.