Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Third Draft: The Day The Came  (Read 531 times)

morganwilson

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Third Draft: The Day The Came
« on: November 23, 2019, 06:12:15 PM »
First off, huge thank you to my CPs: Sandy Roffey, Rebecca Fryar and Arianna Townsend. They gave so much great feedback and caught my atrocious comma usage  ???

One thing I always remind myself of when getting critiques is that I won't always agree with them, does it mean they're wrong? Definitely not. Does it mean you have to accept them and change your work to fit their ideas? Also definitely not. That's the thing with critiques, they're subjective, you don't have to do anything that makes you feel uncomfortable or doesn't fit your vision for the story.

That being said, I got amazing feedback and took just about all of it to add some deliciousness to this story. One thing everyone agreed one was give more world-building and insight into Nadia's head. I think (hope!) I did just that. I also clarified a few things that were confusing. BUT all this now has me over word count! So I'll be spending next week with my writing BFF figuring out what I can cut or simply to get me back under 1k. It's only about 140 words, that should be easy right?!

Nadia trudged up the staircase, bare feet stinging from the chilled metal. Her back ached from another restless sleep on the cots in the barracks. Nadia stifled a yawn with her poncho, the only garment she owned  that could brace her for the cold of the tower in the mornings. It was her duty to watch from dawn until dusk every day. For how long and for what? The council never said. Just to watch and light the flare if she saw anything. She had a feeling they were waiting for something or someone to come or to return, but there was no point in asking. They'd just tell her to do her job.