Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: First Draft: Smoke on the Water  (Read 415 times)

KristenH

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
First Draft: Smoke on the Water
« on: July 20, 2021, 10:53:52 PM »
Here's my very rough draft of Smoke on the Water, my contemporary romance future meet-cute, at 2000 words.

Smoke on the Water

On a clear spring morning, I walked along the long, winding pier at Washington Park Beach in Michigan City.  While I visited my cousin here, I received a special assignment from the National Historical Society to design a print for the annual hot air balloon festival in Astor Fields next month.  They've given me an endowment to create an image of the Michigan City Lighthouse to go on the balloon. This was the first time the N.H.S., and the town of Astor Fields, had considered to enter their hot air balloon in the race. They've also had granted me permission to tour the lightkeeper's cottage and to climb to the top of the watch tower. Lucky for me, I wasn't afraid of heights.
As I strode along the pier, I glanced at the calm, blue-green water from Lake Michigan. With light foamy waves that lapped at the shore, the  bright sun shone above me as I donned my tinted shades and viewed this magnificent scenery. Lighthouses had always fascinated me ever since I was a young girl. In my right hand, I carried my CAD-computer, a blank sketch pad, and assorted colored pens and pencils. From my previous research on Michigan City Lighthouse & Pier I've done the day before, I've gotten the gist of how tall and wide it would be for  my print to go on the nylon fabric. So excited to see my name, Jillian Ross, graphic designer and fine artist, be mentioned in the papers and credit this achievement on my resum? and portfolio for future commissioned work.