Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: THE SECRET TO HEAVEN 2nd Draft Self Edits  (Read 932 times)

susan.burdorf

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
THE SECRET TO HEAVEN 2nd Draft Self Edits
« on: August 09, 2020, 11:32:15 PM »
THE SECRET TO HEAVEN
By Susan Burdorf

I?d forgotten how long the walk was when I started out that morning.
   I reached into my backpack for the bottle of water I?d taken from the cooler earlier. Cold when I began three hours ago its temperature was closer to lukewarm now.
   I swallowed the liquid anyway, grateful for the momentary reprieve from the onslaught of memories.
Brian, my betrothed, had suggested this trip, insisted on it, actually.
?You need to face this history sometime, might as well be now.? He?d said in his gentle way when I protested I had too much work to do.
His blue eyes, usually so warm and tender, were serious and wide. A psychologist by profession, he knew all about repressed memories and the damage they could do if not dealt with.
?Joke?s on you, babe,? Clara said as she stood on the hilltop just out of sight of the object of this trek, ?I?ve faced them, and found them too hard. Too sad. Anything worth salvaging died with my mother last year.? I shifted my backpack, its weight more imagined than real.
The only response to my comment was the wind tousling my short-cropped dark hair, another sign of my independence from tradition. All my life my mother reminded me that women of my tribe always wore their hair long and loose until marriage. An antiquated and stereotypical view of the Native American girl that I refused to adhere to once I reached my teen years. One of the first, of many, things my mother and I argued about once I became old enough to assert my adolescent independence.
But that wasn?t why I was here.