Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Night Cast draft 2  (Read 683 times)

Yarac

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Night Cast draft 2
« on: August 16, 2020, 01:29:37 AM »
Draft 2 and although I had the idea going with YA character, it seemed to move towards a MG tale like story. I'm still not sure where I want to go by the end.

Night Cast
By Yara C.

It was past midnight, before the sun would rise, the older woman stirred the ladle spoon in the boiling pot. With weary eyes, she looked out the single window, fogged to anyone who walked by. But nobody ascended up the mountain to the single house by the fields. Not on a night like this or any night for that matter.
Isla sat at the center table plucking the peddles from the bundle of chamomile flowers. Her fingertips dusted in yellow separated the leaves from the peddles into two baskets. She looked over to her abuela, Carma, who threw another bundle of herbs into the bubbling pot. She hasn't moved from that spot in over an hour.
Isla was sure the basket filled to the brim was enough for Carma's brew. It had to be. They've been in the cabin since the sun set hours ago and Isla didn't think she could take another round of pollen slithering up her nose and crawling around her skin.
Any other night, Carma wouldn't need her. But tonight, she specifically asked Isla for help ? that's never happened before. On other nights, Isla would come along and watch, taking notes on how Carma moved around with the herbs. Within hours, a spell would be conjured and Carma would send it slithering down the mountains to those casting wishes, pleading to be answered.
It wasn't necessarily a wish and not all casts were answered. Isla still didn't get it. She didn't her any voices and she sure didn't see the spell slithering.
Isla walked over with the two baskets placing them close to Carma. "Should that be enough?" She hoped the answer was a yes as she began to wipe the powdery yellow from her face.