Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Draft 1 - Towering - Fantasy/Horror  (Read 1031 times)

natlockettwrites

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Draft 1 - Towering - Fantasy/Horror
« on: November 08, 2019, 09:28:09 PM »
Writing this draft was like eating peanut butter toast without something to drink.  :D It strayed a bit from the original intent, leaving the prompt visuals in the dust. But here we are and here works for me. Can't wait to see what everyone else came up with!

The hearth lit with rollicking flame of its own volition. Save for the muted roar, Thea barely noticed it anymore. Each evening, as the sun kissed the snow capped mountains across the channel, her tower came to life with invisible servants making it a comfortable place to be held captive.

Her entire memory was of this place, it's stone walls and rich furniture never changing, and her face in the mirror never appearing to age. She spent her time following paths of imagination through the pages of books and looking down on the village. The people below became her favorite characters. She watched through the glass as they fell in love, had children, and most enviable of all--they lived.

Tonight her neighbors busied themselves preparing for the full moon. The men boarded the windows, while the women and children set lanterns afloat along the shore to warn away passing vessels. An older boy with strong shoulders and a wicked grin danced along the bank, kicking up tiny waves and splashing girls who giggled in spite of themselves.