Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Universe of Time - Draft 2  (Read 671 times)

Blueroan

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Universe of Time - Draft 2
« on: August 13, 2020, 02:51:05 AM »
It seem to take FOREVER to whittle this down to under 1k but I've finally done it! And without further ado:

My journey to the old shack in the mountains I'd aspired to all my life. It'd been much labour, much soul searching, much questing over the years. The hut was nondescript but nestled high above civilization, the vistas stretched further than I could see.

I breathed in the wind that carried the scent of flowers, haunting and sweet. I could hear it sighing among the granite tors, and a small bird singing a bewitching love song. It didn't matter if I never returned to my own. I was an old man. I had nothing left but the sun and the rain, the stars and the earth beneath my feet.

The weathered door opened and I peered in. I saw the place was bare, save for a bed and chair. There was no food, no place to draw water, no tables. This puzzled me. From my studies, everything was provided; I would need nothing but the clothes on my back and faith.

Clearly faith is what I needed. I went inside when the golden sun was ribboning across the sky with the promise of tomorrow in its arms. I was asleep as the moonbeams danced a ghostly waltz across the hard wooden floor.

And I dreamed of dragons.

A black dragon, glittering with stars, whose tail drew the Milky way with him, appeared. I grabbed onto a shining scale and he took me into the skies. He showed me without words the stories written across the galaxies, the despair of Mercury and the joy of Saturn. The stars twinkled, the comets passed, the bright planets glowed. There was no I, no me, just a being lost in the immenseness of space.

There can be no Shadows without Light. There can be no Light without Darkness.