Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Self Edit Draft The Imposter We Traded  (Read 524 times)

TalynnL

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Self Edit Draft The Imposter We Traded
« on: November 14, 2019, 05:38:59 PM »
Well, here it is. I've went back and forth with a love hate relationship on the draft...

Every morning is the same.
Every morning I wake to carnival day.
Today, though, I have my key. A silver key with a twisted metal handle, a sapphire stone half moon and engraved stars. There's a tiny inscription on the moon, but it's so small, I've never been able to read it. I've always kept it in my jewelry box, but today, I string on a ribbon and slip it around my neck.
"What's it for?" Cress asks as we stand in line for the swings. I run my fingertips over the entire silver surface. "I don't know. It belonged to my grandmother," I say.
"Whatever." She shrugs her shoulder in a dismissive way. "Have you seen Dove this morning?"
"Nope." I scan the crowd of carnival goers. Dove is never late, and she always rides the swing at the same time as Cress and me. There are three of us turning sweet sixteen today, and we've spent every birthday together. We do the same thing, wear the same clothes, eat the same food. The only difference is today, I have my key. A gift to myself. The gift of hope.
Once, I tried to use the key the way my mom warned me to never try, but guilt over powered my desire to be free, and I walked away, still locked inside the carnival. But today, on my sweet sixteen, freedom is stronger than guilt. Today, I will be free.
I spot Dove standing in line for the Free Fall. She's talking to a boy, her hand wrapped around her key necklace. Usually, she's bubbly and happy. Today is different.
"What's she doing? Why is she not here with us?" Cress asks.
I know, but I can't tell her the reason. It's against the rules. Cress has to figure it out on her own accord.