Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Gloom, Despair and Agony O'er Me  (Read 911 times)

Helena

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Gloom, Despair and Agony O'er Me
« on: August 04, 2020, 02:28:36 PM »
At first I was going to let Writers in Motion know I couldn't do it because all the image invoked in me was dread. Looking at the prompt all I felt was death, being terribly alone and depression. I thought about writing a story about someone going to the little house to die but that seemed too heavy. It depressed me. Then I thought about how the end of a serious relationship or  marriage was a kind of death. I had just watched Umbrella Academy 2 a day or two before and Vanya was living with a family and absconded with the wife and child and I was thinking about the husband character and how that must feel for him. Even though he turned out to be a bit of a jerk he had only tried to do the best he could for his family before his wife realized she was in love with Vanya. And I thought about a guy at my old place of employment (who also was a bit of a jerk) whose wife left him for another woman. He used to announce it to all and sundry at work and add, "Can you believe that?" He would shake his head in disbelief as he said it followed by a fleeting expression of hurt.