Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Welcome Home - CP1 Draft  (Read 1073 times)

Fabierien

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Welcome Home - CP1 Draft
« on: November 20, 2019, 08:17:22 PM »
  I would like to take a moment to thank Grim Dreamer and Natalie for their excellent feedback. I really appreciate that and the brainstorming that you both helped me with. The story has grown from 423 words to 880. I tried to use those words to add more internal narrative to the story. In the original I focused on using body parts and images in an attempt to make the reader 'feel' that physical connect with the MC. In this draft I attempted to pull back from that a bit and tried to bring the focus back to the character herself. Also I feel I was able to fill in that plot hole that was there previously by doing this.

Internal dialogue is something I struggle with, well how to show it anyway. Is it good enough to put it in italics? Should you break the prose and set it by itself? I would be interested in the thoughts out there.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Carle's father had been top of his class, a zeppelin pilot able to navigate the fiercest winds. It?s all in how you feel it, he would say. Most people didn't get it, not even the other pilots but that is why he was the best. Then the Emperor called and he answered. He did things like that, chose others over himself. She remembered his smile as he left that morning, safe she would be safe and so would everyone else. That was eleven years ago, she had been six.