Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: THE LIGHTHOUSE  (Read 1441 times)

Helena

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
THE LIGHTHOUSE
« on: August 02, 2020, 03:57:35 PM »
Hartley didn't trust the air mattress. He had swept the rough wooden floor free of dirt and dead bugs as best he could and laid a tarp on it, but still. Air mattresses had a way of springing a leak just when you'd gotten comfortable and thought you could finally rest. He'd purchased a cheap sleeping bag that he'd laid atop it. It wasn't the Hilton, but it would do.

Outside it was still daylight but the crickets had already begun rubbing their wings together. Some people called it night music, the racket they made, he called it a bunch of horny insects. He was a city boy at heart, always would be. Well, suburbs anyway. That's all he'd ever wanted: a nice house in the suburbs, decent cars to put in the garage, a family. Same thing his old man had. Same thing everyone told you you were supposed to want.

He watched as white smoke curled up from the orange tip of the cigarette on the card table and drifted through the open door. He couldn't bring himself to actually smoke the damn thing and the smell was making him sick to his stomach. He'd quit a ten-year habit seven years ago. Janie had been on him. "We've got a son now", she said. "Do it for him." And so he had. He'd given up smoking for Hartley Jr., and for Janie and for the family everyone had told him he was supposed to have.

Except he didn't have a family anymore. Janie had up and left him for a woman she met on the internet. And don't that beat all? Don't that just take the fucking cake? How's a man supposed to hold his head up after that? He'd come home from work and there was a note and clothes thrown about the bedrooms and money missing out the bank account. Just like that it was as if he'd been erased from his own life.