Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Grasping the WILD self-edit  (Read 484 times)

rmcwilliams86

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Grasping the WILD self-edit
« on: November 14, 2019, 11:10:30 PM »
"You'll be free." They said. "Empowered."

Lies. All lies. It's hot, dusty, I haven't taken a proper shower in days. My legs are hot noodles of pain, my thighs swollen three sizes too big and instead of self-assurance I have gained existential crisis. Divorce should be the lowest point of life. Or infertility, rehab at thirty-two or the time a flock of bird's poo, not once, but multiple times in your hair during your first kiss. But no! This moment, when I am bare-foot, pants ripped bad enough to know my ass is hanging out and I am hundreds of miles away from any source of humanity--this is worse.

I take a hesitant step forward aware I am in a minefield of spikey needles and hidden pinecones. I sigh. The trail I was following is still nowhere to be found.

Hiking should provide peace. It fills the body with endorphins until you say, "I've conquered this motherf'ing mountain and I can climb whatever hill of bullshit you throw at me now life."

And to be fair that did happen. I reached the peak of the mountain/hill (but for my own gratuity it is a motherf'ing mountain) and I gained an oh so brief but exhilarating moment of clarity which I commemorated with the everlasting selfie. Who would believe my journey without photographic evidence? Plus, I had planned for the moment. I stripped from my hiking clothes, relishing in the suns warmth before donning a black ensemble. Hair perfect, body slimmed--I lit a flare stick, held onto a metal safety post and BAM! The perfect selfie.

I even had a thigh gap from which sunshine shone through like freaking rays of angels. It. Was. Perfect. I looked like I was flying in the sky. I looked like a hippie bad-ass.