Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Draft 2 - Welcome Home  (Read 735 times)

Fabierien

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Draft 2 - Welcome Home
« on: November 13, 2019, 06:44:12 PM »
    Carle?s father had been top of his class, a pilot able to navigate the fiercest wind. When the Emperor?s call came, he had signed up without hesitation. That was eleven years ago, she had been six. She remembered his smile most fondly, it could warm an entire room. It made her feel safe.
She searched the crumbled letter in her hand, it was torn in places where her tears had worn through. He was coming home, would be home before the early light. She fought to control the sob that threatened her again. Carle?s eyes flicked to the clock on the other side of the control room. Very soon! She was on her feet, her chair clattering on the floor behind her.

She dashed out of the room, willing her legs to move faster. They began to burn as she turned from one empty hallway to the next. Down corridors lit by pools of light pouring from caged lanterns on the wall. Their town was so small they would be missed without the signal. Another corner, another empty hall. Finally she saw it by the door, where it always had been. Her heart pounded in her ears as she begged her legs to carry her faster. As she neared she slid on one leg stopping in front of the trunk.

EMERGENCY ONLY. It read in bright red letters. The war was over, their fathers and brothers were coming home. Obviously this counted. She threw open the chest and started throwing supplies over her shoulder. Where was the flare? It was supposed to be here. A radiation suit went over her head, followed by some sort of canned meat. Finally at the bottom she found the flare and snatched it up.