Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Second Draft - La Capitaine  (Read 825 times)

Dani Frank

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Second Draft - La Capitaine
« on: November 15, 2019, 07:14:42 PM »
Some notes

I made it!! *sobs with joy* This was emotionally exhausting. I did not realize how attached to each sentence I was until it came time to cutting them. I started a twitter thread just so I had a public place to scream my frustrations into the world. I reread this story dozens of times over the past week and, if we're being honest, there's probably still some typos in it. My process was rewrite from my outline so it looks beautiful and then cut 1/3 of that beautiful thing that I just made. But here we are 999 words later. Enjoy and savor.

La Capitaine

He stops riffling her desk at the sound of her pistol cocking and she smiles.
"Bonsoir, mon petit lapin." A little rabbit. He hates the name. He is a shark, circling for blood.
"Margot," he coos, drawing out her name. His jaw is sharp as a blade. "Where is the map?"
"That's Capitaine Margot, Guy."
He likes the way his name flows from her lips. The French of her homeland molding his flat English name into something new. He once said he only learned French to ask her to say it again.
Even now, the question forms in the curve of his lips, in the sparkle in his eye, but as he opens his mouth the floor jerks beneath their feet. His ship is faster than she anticipated.
The second volley blasts a hole through her wall and sends Guy sprawling towards the precipice, his eyes wide and blue as the sea. She grabs his outstretched hand, but his weight and momentum are too much. She is pulled with him. They plunge into the water.