Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: So long, and thanks for all the fish  (Read 1243 times)

Dani Frank

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
So long, and thanks for all the fish
« on: December 06, 2019, 02:33:55 AM »
What I wanted to do

There were three main goals I had in mind when I entered that lottery over a month ago:

• Build a writing community that I can talk to and ask all the questions
  • Learn all the things! Or at least some things. Which is more than I knew before, and
  • Have some written material on the internet for the world to see that I can be proud of. Or at least ok with.

But to be perfectly honest, I was fairly confident my name would be drawn, and I would be obligated to join this event. Did you know you can enter every day after the lottery opens? I think most people must have just done the default 1-3 entries, but past-Dani entered every day so that approximately 10% of the entries were my name while constantly saying this is super scary, but it will be good for future-Dani. And then future-Dani cursed past-Dani when her name was first on the list of lottery winners. Now I must engage! I must perform, good or bad, sink or swim. Because the people are watching and they know what they are doing and what they are talking about.

In summary, I was super stressed going into it. What if I'm not really a writer? Have I been lying this whole time? Maybe I just really like reading books, and if I actually jump out of the comfort nest I've been hiding in, I'll plummet to my death a.k.a. write something super crappy and embarrassing and be booed off of the internet. Because that's how the internet works. It's like survivor and we just vote people off this island periodically.

What actually happened