Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Deep Networks - Rough Draft  (Read 560 times)

oliver

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
    • OliverElwood.com
Deep Networks - Rough Draft
« on: August 03, 2020, 06:52:46 PM »
Deep Networks (rough draft)
Oliver Elwood

Discovery platform rotated lazily as it orbited the trans-d portal. It created just enough artificial gravity to keep Lewis and Clarke anchored to the lab's designated floor. A stream of images carouselled across the giant display on the lab's front wall. Lewis leaned over her monitors trying to get as close as possible to the data stream.
     "Did it work? It definitely worked."
     Clarke pushed her mag chair as far back as she could. She hated to be the bearer of bad news. "I'm not sure, none of this makes sense. Something's not right."
     "We've been trying to gather data from the trans-d portal for three years. It's the only way to save what's left down there. This is objectively data that came through and we captured. It finally happened. Experiment 14,784 is a success. We should be celebrating!"
     Lewis held her hand out waiting for a reciprocal high five, but Clarke ignored it, continuing to fidget with the data loops. She halted the flow of photos, and brought forward the first image to take up the entirety of the screen.
     Lewis dropped her hand back to her lap. "This is the final control image we used to calibrate them. It wasn't given to Enco current until after their communication array was separated. But, it was sent to Deco current along with the portal dump. Deco was able to rebuild the correct image. That's the proof that the other images from the portal are also rebuilt correctly."
     Clarke looked across the room at the small mechanical box housing Deco current. They had decorated the exterior with little 3d printed googly eyes. The data was consistent, but something didn't match up. She couldn't put her finger on it, so she kept digging in the files.