Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: The Bride (1st draft)  (Read 1197 times)

Vickywrites

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
The Bride (1st draft)
« on: August 04, 2020, 02:44:58 PM »
Why wasn't she moving?

Crouched on the roof of the ugly mountainside building, Malthas stretched his leathery wings towards the star-filled sky and studied his new bride. She stood immobile in the flowers, a breeze stirring her curls and billowing her patterned dress. Crickets chirped around them, bats darted over their heads and the symbol tattooed on her wrist, his emblem of spirals and shadows, hummed insistently. She stayed voiceless, her gaze as vacant as a statue.

He cursed. Earlier that day, he'd adopted a human facade to stroll through the festival in the hazy afternoon sun, concealing his repugnance at the stale, spinning bodies, the pumping music and the nonsensical joviality of fools and drunkards. After tempting her from the crowd, he'd taken flight from the valley, hushing her screams with a growled command. Upon landing, she'd bolted into the undergrowth. And now... every time he waded into the snowy white blossoms, something repelled him.

The portal hidden beneath the hideous, concrete structure prodded at his mind, demanding his return so it could close. The soulless building had decimated its power to such an extent, it had taken immense effort to pass through. What if it never opened again?

"Come to me," he commanded.

She remained empty, unseeing. The flowers trembled as if steeling their courage, their green stems wrapping even tighter around her slender calves. Their cloying aroma rose, keeping her consciousness at bay.

He ground his teeth. "Come to me."

"You cannot have her, demon."

Another young woman stepped into the clearing from the trees. Small and slight, garbed in a flowing ivory gown, her auburn hair adorned with vines the same emerald colour as her eyes.