Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: First Draft: Universe of Time  (Read 773 times)

Blueroan

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
First Draft: Universe of Time
« on: August 07, 2020, 04:09:13 AM »
I hiked to the hut in the mountains. It had been a journey of many years, much labour, much soul searching. The place didn't look like much but nestled high above every city and town, the vistas stretched further than I could see. I peered at my journal. Yes, this was my destination, for the lowly hut matched the ancient sketches in my book.

I breathed in the wind, which carried the scent of the nearby flowers, haunting and sweet. I could hear the wind sighing among the granite tors, and a small bird singing a love song, the melody bewitching.

There were things to be done. I had no idea how long I'd be here, or even if I'd ever return to my own. I was an old man by now, so it mattered not. I had nothing left now but the sun and the rain, the stars and the earth beneath my feet.

The weathered door opened of its own accord, to my surprise, but I plucked up courage to step in the door. Glancing about, I saw it was bare save for a bed and a chair. There was no food, no place to draw water, no tables, no cupboards. This puzzled me. From my studies, all was supposed to be provided for me; I would need nothing but the clothes on my back and faith.

Clearly faith is what I needed more of. There was nothing to do but wait for the sundown before I could sleep. I went inside when the golden sun was ribboning across the sky with the promise of tomorrow in its arms. I was asleep just as the moonbeams danced a ghostly waltz across the hard wooden floor.

And I dreamed of dragons.