Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Loving him  (Read 588 times)

apra0506

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Loving him
« on: August 07, 2020, 11:08:45 AM »
I am miserable at short fiction, and this is my first time writing something under a 1000 words! It's not perfect, but I've tried my best. Here it is!

There?s a house on the hill, buffeted by a wind that?s hardly ever still. The mango trees surrounding it are a rich, dark green and in the hot muggy heat of the summer there will be rich, yellow-red mangoes on the trees. Radha likes mangoes. She likes the tart ones more than she does the sweet. There are sprigs of wheat growing like weeds strewn across the aangan, but she doesn?t mind them. She enters the little house. It is beginning to fall in on itself. She should be careful, but she doesn?t care. She trusts the gods to keep her safe. After all, one of them loved her once.

The hills are blue. They remind her of him. Shyam sundar, they called him. Beautiful like the dusk. She wonders why he picked her. She is not the most beautiful of all the Gopikas, nor the wisest. She is not even the kindest. She is simply who she is- Radha, jealous and spiteful and desperately in love. She hates to think it might have been simple chance that drew him to her, but that is most likely.

He is a god now. When she met him he was only a cowherd. She spurned him at first, because he was so much younger than her and she was afraid she would break his heart. But he was so indescribably beautiful, radiant like the sun and as charming as fresh dewdrops on flowers. She could not help but to love him. No one could. Not the ladies whose butter he stole, not the demons whom he slew.