Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: First Draft - Another Woman  (Read 862 times)

NetaQDay

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
First Draft - Another Woman
« on: August 07, 2020, 05:20:51 PM »
Another Woman

Three years after Danny created a Facebook profile, I filed for divorce. I didn?t want to. But what could I do? My husband was a married man in the throes of a midlife crisis at the ripe old age of thirty-five.

What happened to the good old days of those hidden furtive affairs in motels and parking lots. Or in some lovers lane, grinding on each other to Bob Marley or the Beatles.

When you are from the Islands, like we are, you called it commonness. Here in good old Brooklyn, we call it love making. I sometimes jokingly call the act intercourse or when I felt naughty I would say fucking, or when I felt grateful for the connection or for the momentary rush of addicting pleasure, I called it rom pom. In this place, a concrete jungle, as young and hungry as we were, we were doing it at the back of the theater, or at the back of Met grocery store, or on the L train at midnight.

We had a good life. Married for ten years. No children. Busy with our careers. Most of my extended family live in Brooklyn. His family now live in upstate NY. Their suburbia. Albany. Cold in the winter. Hot in the summer. And green in the spring. It is there he now wants to visit. It would be my first time. I don?t know what to expect. I?m fed up. We are now done.

?We need to talk.?

Those were the first words he grunted to me in more than a week. He was the one who cheated. He was the one who was on social media pretending he was single. Why do I now feel hurt, ? should I have taken the higher road and confronted him. No. he should not have waited so long after I sent him the screen shot of the text messages I found. Is it my ego?