Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: First draft - untitled  (Read 923 times)

Dani Frank

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
First draft - untitled
« on: August 07, 2020, 09:46:42 PM »
   Welcome. Welcome. This is my first draft and also my first attempt at a romcom. Parts of this is Frankenstein-ed together and I had to try really hard to not reread (and then edit everything). I'm pretty sure I will need to smooth out and maybe tone down some of the dialog.
   If you haven't seen the movie Speed, I highly recommend it (or at least watch the trailer here https://youtu.be/Fk4A1AY10U0 to get a lot of my references). I don't know why Speed happened in this story, but that's just what came out. As an aside, this story is very loosely based on a true story. So without further ado, enjoy!

This was it. Her final resting place. She was going to die on this dumb mountain without even reaching the top.
   "I'm done."
   "Come on, wildcat," Matt called back from an annoying distance ahead on the trail. "If we drop below 50 this bus will blow."
   "Screw that, Keanu. Let the mountain take me."
   "It can't be much further," Matt repeated for the seventh time in the past hour. His perfect ass was no longer enough motivation to keep going.
   "Oh wow. Tessa! Look at this view. It's so beautiful!"
   They were on a mountain in a national park. Every bend had a beautiful view and she was getting pretty damn sick of them. Jesus help her, if he did another handstand, she would push him off of this mountain.
   Dragging her feet around the bend to where he stopped, she looked out where the trees backed off and opened a clear view of the mountain range. The mountains faded into the distance from a deep rocky grey fading to sky blue and a distant purple. It was gorgeous. If she wasn't sweating like a pig and gasping like a fish on a freaking mountain this could almost be considered romantic.