Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Second Draft: A Daughter's Affection  (Read 442 times)

beepsong

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Second Draft: A Daughter's Affection
« on: August 12, 2020, 07:47:47 PM »
The fall breeze caught my hat and tried to fetch it from my head. I plopped my hand atop it and continued onward, trying to ignore the dead, dry grass turning to dust beneath my steps. The filth caught the wind and fluttered away, dead and worthless.

Tall, tired sage bushes were putting up a better fight than the rest of the greenery. Of course, few things green in the high plains of New Mexico. I?d known the state when it?d been part of its original nation, but the world was changing faster than ever. Everyone wanted to prove themselves in the brave, new world.

I'd walked through the Valley of the Damned, nearly drowned in a sea of sand, and roasted beneath the hot, red sun. And, as I approached the abandoned, battered hovel, it was all worth it. This lousy shanty, this boarded up old shack; this was what awaited me at the end of a road that was too long.

Breaking the boards over the window could have been done by coughing on them. I sneezed as they fell away and into the building. There was no door, but I bunched my skirt at the hip and hoped no one was around to see my boxers. One leg first, then the other, I slid in and gasped as agony burned through my back.

Translucent wing flesh caught on an old nail jutting out from the window shutter, I grabbed the low edge of the roof outside and pulled myself up. There was a hole in my wing the size of a dime by the time I was done, but that would heal. Fairies aren't particularly vulnerable to lockjaw, so I wasn't very concerned about the tear. Pain was a passing gesture and had the nail been iron, I would have known it already.