Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: The Bride (2nd draft, self-edits)  (Read 677 times)

Vickywrites

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
The Bride (2nd draft, self-edits)
« on: August 13, 2020, 12:36:26 PM »
My self-edited draft - I rarely write short stories so found working to a 1000 word limit hard but also good editing practice. Still not 100% happy with it and it's definitely less short story now and more the start of something bigger  ??? But in a nutshell I tried to:

* Tighten dialogue
* Improve descriptions (real weak point for me)
* Fight my nemeses: passive voice, filler words and adverbs
* Delve deeper into MC personalities & history
* Strengthen the Greek mythology link
* Completely change the ending?!  :D

Crouched atop the ugly mountainside building, Malthas stretched his leathery wings and studied his new bride. She stood immobile in the clearing, an alpine breeze billowing her clothes and hair. Crickets chirped in the grass, bats darted overhead and the tattoo on her wrist, his spiral emblem, whispered insistently. She remained voiceless among the alabaster flowers, empty as a statue.

The portal to his realm pulsed beneath the concrete structure, anxious to seal shut. He cursed. He'd cloaked himself in shadows to infiltrate the human festival in the valley, enduring the drunken fools and shrill music to snatch the girl. When they landed, she'd bolted into the undergrowth. Now, every time he waded into the blooms, something repelled him.

"Come to me," he commanded.

She remained vacant, unseeing. The flowers quivered, their stems tightening around her ankles. Their cloying aroma intensified, keeping her consciousness at bay.

He ground his teeth. "Come to me."

"Leave her be, demon."

Another young woman emerged from the treeline. Petite and barefoot, her gown shimmering in the moonlight and her auburn braid woven with vines.

Of course. Who else. "Damn you, Echo. Release my bride from your enchantment immediately."

"I will not."