Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: To Remember Her By -- First CP Draft  (Read 884 times)

SaraTBond

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
To Remember Her By -- First CP Draft
« on: August 19, 2020, 03:54:42 AM »
I really loved this week, getting edits from my CPs and getting to incorporate their suggestions. Both Thuy and Ari offered great perspective, allowing me to clear up some info-dumps, fix a few unclear moments, and get to the heart of the final twist. I think the changes make it stronger, and I'm really excited about next week when I can improve it even more.

I also really loved getting to dive into two others' stories. Thuy and Ari had very different pieces, and I appreciated them both. I hope my suggestions helped them, though, I worry my gushing over their gorgeous descriptions and uses of language overshadowed any criticisms I may have had. I can't help it; they're both brilliant writers!

Anyway, here's my latest draft.

TO REMEMBER HER BY

Maren wiped the sweat from her brow, leaving a smear of wet earth in its place. The soil had been soft beneath the spread of ferns and wildflowers, making it easy to dig a hole big enough for Giana. The work was easy, methodical, almost meditative. The hard part had been replacing the plants, arranging them over the telltale grave, wrestling the large root systems of the ferns back in place over Giana's body. Now they were both covered in mud.

Exactly as Giana wanted it.

Ashes to ashes, dust to dust. Returned to the earth from whence we all came.

"There is a natural order to these things," she had said, "even if the world refuses to see it."

A glow settled in beyond the mountains, though the sun had set some time ago. Maren imagined she could climb over the edge of the world, just over the top of the peaks, follow the sunset just a few minutes more. Cling to the last vestiges of day before night settled in.

She took a deep breath. She had time for that, at last.