Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Final Draft - Another Woman  (Read 443 times)

NetaQDay

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Final Draft - Another Woman
« on: August 29, 2020, 05:08:29 AM »
Three years after Danny created a Facebook profile, I filed for a divorce. My husband was a married man in the throes of a midlife crisis at the ripe old age of thirty-five.

The interference of social media hid Danny?s emotional affairs in plain sight. Oh, they are just old friends, he lamented, when confronted with the lengthy Messenger verbiage and pictorial assaults.

The faceless agony of my miscarriage distorted my ability to grieve when the days seemed so normal. I had damned the world and its propensity to revolve. My soul shrunk, cringing to disconnect, seeking to invade the shadowy spaces of our one-bedroom apartment. Subverting Danny?s platitudes to awkward silences, I would only nod. Our gazes diverted to the periphery of our forgotten love. The shopping cart in my Amazon Prime account betrayed my inability to move on as I ceaselessly perused and added to the pinks, blues, and greens. ?You weren?t ready,? he?d said.

The aroma of cinnamon rolls, oven-fresh, filled the room, ushering out memories of the past into the barren expanse of the present. Danny sipped his black coffee then traced the tip of a finger around the gooey spirals of his roll, circling, and licking the sticky sweetness. My eyes followed this singular fastidious mannerism. Solely mine to contemplate, mine to equate with proprietary glee, mine to hate. He was the one who cheated, my lips set, eyes narrowing.