Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Deep Networks - Final  (Read 669 times)

oliver

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
    • OliverElwood.com
Deep Networks - Final
« on: August 29, 2020, 08:17:22 PM »
I want to offer my heartfelt thanks to Jeni Chappelle for editing this final draft. She had great suggestions and a sharp eye that caught the remaining issues.

I also want to thank the entire Writer in Motion crew. This was a great experience, and I have grown from it. I didn't like my initial draft, but I am quite fond of the final version, and that is due in no small part to all of the CP and Editor suggestions.

=================

Deep Networks
Oliver Elwood

Space. Emptiness stretching endlessly away, blanketed by an infinite number of stars. No planets, no moons, no suns. Just stars, forever out of reach, and the dense field of anomaly portals that her lost research vessel was drifting through.
     When Lewis felt nervous, she became parched. Her throat a desert, dry and cracked. She sipped a bulb of water. It tasted dry. She watched as the Enco probe delicately approached the anomaly field, searching for the target portal. A few seconds later, it entered and disappeared. The experiment began.
     Lewis found it hard to focus with her glasses sliding off her face, not to mention unbecoming for the chief scientist. She pushed them back into place and kept looking down at the raw data streaming across her monitor. Behind her, a scratchy loudspeaker continued its play-by-play of the action in the anomaly field. "Signal strength decreasing ten percent? five? zero. Data stream terminated. Enco probe encoding complete. Enco signal lost. Deco Current will begin signal decode."
     On her right, lead engineer Clarke ignored the raw data from the monitors, preferring to watch the endless stream of images carousel across the primary display. With each passing image, Clarke bounced just a little more, making it harder still for Lewis to focus.