Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Second Draft- Scud Run  (Read 500 times)

dextermain

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Second Draft- Scud Run
« on: July 23, 2021, 11:32:59 AM »
   Neil's shirt stuck to his back almost as soon as he and his brother sat on the front porch to watch the crew take down the powerlines. The lines hadn't been used for almost a year, but the city hadn't made it a priority to remove them until then.
   In school they'd watched an old movie about a man who had to emergency land a plane. It was supposed to be a true story, but in it the pilot had flown through a cloud. After the film the teacher showed them real videos of pilots flying through them, and then showed them the first incident of the changing clouds.
"They're gonna hit a building. They're gonna crash," a lady screamed. The plane careened near buildings and landed in a field outside of the town. The video cut to a close up of the man's wings and they were dented, damaged, and bent up.
   "I wasn't aiming to do a scud run," he said. "I had to. I swear I had to. Look at the plane."
   That summer Neil and his brother woke up early almost every day. They liked to go outside and watch the sky. They saw the planes fly under the clouds, and other times watched the clouds sink towards the Earth. 
   One morning Neil's brother had woken up much earlier than Neil. Neil was asleep when his brother burst into his room shouting, "A cloud. There's a cloud falling and it looks like it's gonna land in the big field."
        Neil threw some shorts and a hoodie on and the two of them ran out the door. They cut through the neighbor's yards and ran as fast as they could. Near the edge of the field was a small covered pavilion with two old wooden picnic tables. They sprinted past it and kept their heads up in the sky looking for the descending cloud. It was gone, but as they looked around they noticed fog all around them.