Writer In Motion Forum

Author Topic: Self-Edited version: Smoke on the Water  (Read 673 times)

KristenH

• I am a Writer In Motion
    • View Profile
Self-Edited version: Smoke on the Water
« on: July 27, 2021, 04:08:18 PM »
HI all. Here's my belated self-edited version of Smoke on the Water. I do some commenting this week to catch up on both versions. Enjoy!

Smoke On the Water

On a clear spring morning, I walked along the long pier at Washington Park Beach. I received a special assignment from the National Historical Society to design a print for the annual BalloonFest in Astor Fields. They've given me permission to tour the automated lighthouse. Lucky for me, I wasn't afraid of heights.
I glanced at Lake Michigan lapping at the shore. Lighthouses had always fascinated me ever since I was a young girl. In my right hand, I carried my tablet.  From my previous research on Michigan City Lighthouse & Pier, I've gotten the gist of how tall and wide it would be for the nylon fabric. I pretended to faint. My name mentioned in the local newspaper for this newest milestone in my career.
At the entrance, I typed rough estimates for the pre-cut rough design. Instead the usual red-and-white stripes, I etched a light composite on the canvas like an artist painting their landscape or seascape. My feet dangled near the edge and not too close to the railing. My heartbeat slammed inside my chest. Unadulterated adrenaline rushed through me as I've worked on the design. When I finished, I unlocked the doors with the master keys.
Inside, I climbed the spiral staircase to the elevated catwalk. Out-of-breath, I reached the top and glanced at the large windows facing Lake Michigan to marvel at the view. ?Wow! I feel like I'm on top of the world... ? I let out a soft chuckle and relaxed my shoulders.